Skip to main content


Carlsbad Unified, Jefferson Elementary, and Pac Rim Elementary Recognized as 2022 California Pivotal Practice Award Program Winners
Posted 4/26/22

State Superintendent of Public Instruction Tony Thurmond today announced the winners of the newly created 2022 California Pivotal Practice (CAPP) Award Program. Carlsbad Unified School District was recognized as a district award winner, and Jefferson Elementary School and Pacific Rim Elementary School were recognized as school winners. 

The award program is being utilized by California in 2022 in place of the California Distinguished Schools (DS) Program. It celebrates schools and districts that implemented an innovative practice during the 2020–21 school year, when California required schools to offer distance learning due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

“I’m incredibly proud of these schools and districts for their creativity, dedication, and innovation in the face of adversity,” Thurmond said. “These schools led incredible efforts to engage students, distribute technology, provide meals, and support the social and emotional well-being of students during an incredibly difficult time for schools and families.”

In a period when pandemic disruptions made it hard to collect data for statewide assessments, the CDE worked with education association partners to create the CAPP Award to honor the efforts of schools and districts who designed and implemented unique opportunities and strategies to support students in this most challenging time.

727 schools and 121 school districts are being honored for their demonstrated efforts to support students in four target areas:

  • Student Engagement

  • Distribution of Technology

  • Nutrition Services

  • Social Emotional Well-Being of Students

See the complete list of 2022 CAPP School Awardees and  2022 CAPP District Awardees on the CDE website. More information about the CAAP Award, including the four target areas for innovation, is available on the CDE CAPP Program web page.

Questions about the program may be directed to the Awards Unit at