Skip to main content


Carlsbad Unified Leader Named 2021 ‘Superintendent to Watch’ by National School Public Relations Association
Posted 12/17/21

Dr. Ben Churchill has been selected as a 2021 Superintendent to Watch by the National School Public Relations Association (NSPRA). Dr. Churchill joins just 18 other superintendents nationwide who were selected for the honor in recognition of their innovative and effective use of technology to engage and inform the school community, and to expand two-way communication and outreach efforts.

Dr. Churchill has championed the intentional use of communications tools to share positive stories with families, staff and the community. He believes that educators and leaders have an obligation to widely share the wonderful things happening in schools, and that social media is an indispensable tool for sharing the good news about public education. He supports the Carlsbad Unified School District Board of Trustees’ vision that communication be an integral part of all strategic planning initiatives. Under his leadership, in collaboration with the district’s senior leadership team and other key leaders, the school district has recently implemented updated technology tools for two-way communication between parents and school, including the district-wide use of Parent Square.

“Strong communication at the district level continues to be more important than ever in keeping school families, employees, students and community stakeholders well-informed and engaged,” said NSPRA Executive Director Barbara M. Hunter, APR. “We’re proud to recognize this year’s recipients, who are committed to championing innovative communication efforts as an integral part of their district’s success.”

Since the 2015-16 school year, NSPRA has recognized 102 school district leaders as Superintendents to Watch. Honorees must have fewer than five years of experience as a superintendent (at the time of nomination) and must demonstrate dynamic, fast-paced leadership with strong communication at its core.

Visit to learn more about this award.