About Us Bond Measures Calendars CA School Dashboard Contacts District Maps Mission, Vision & Grad Profile Prop P Oversight Committee State of the District-2016 Video Gallery
Agendas Board Members Board Policy Committee Assignments Governance Team Meeting Archive Minutes Mission-Vision-Grad Profile
Alternative Schools Elementary Schools High Schools Middle Schools School Accountability Report Cards Single Plan for Student Achievement
Business Services Classified Personnel Coaching Opportunities Employee Benefits Facilities & Construction Management Fiscal Services Instructional Services IT Services Maintenance & Operations Nutrition Services Personnel Commission Personnel Services Purchasing Substitute Information Superintendent
Parent Resources 2016-17 Local Control Accountability Plan 2017-18 Local Control Accountability Plan (LCAP) Smarter Balanced Testing Information Common Core Resources Common Core Math Resources Flyer Approval & Distribution High School Selection Interdistrict Transfers Intradistrict Transfers Student Wellness Medical Forms Online Enrollment & Registration Optional Forms Summer School Information Transitional Kindergarten
Advanced Learner Education English Language Development Other Programs Special Ed/Pupil Services Supplemental Educational Services Visual and Performing Arts
Staff Technology Links Substitute Staff Resources

Instructional Services

Students-locate-surfing-mecca-Fiji-on-a-globe.jpgThe Instructional Services department works collaboratively with teachers, support staff, school and district administrators, and the community to promote student learning in support of district goals. In pursuit of these goals, Instructional Services is responsible for ensuring that our efforts are compliant with state and federal regulations. Standards-based instruction is promoted through adherence to state-approved instructional materials and implementation of standardized-testing. Pupil Support Services such as inter- and intra-district transfers, suspensions/expulsions, and attendance are also facilitated through Instructional Services. Information Technology Services provides technology support for the learning process at school sites, and administrative offices. The Instructional Services Department is committed to increasing the capacity of teachers and school leaders by providing ongoing and systematic professional development. 

Instructional Services Departments Phone FAX
Instructional Services
(760) 331-5013
(760) 331-6951
Information Technology Services
(760) 331-5050
 
Pupil Services
(760) 331-5016
(760) 331-6951

Robert H. Nye, Ed.D., Assistant Superintendent
Phone: (760) 331-5013 - Department FAX: (760) 331-6951
Email

 

Instructional Services Staff
 

Position
Name
Phone
Email
Executive Assistant
Trudy Thompson
(760) 331-5011
Director, Secondary Education Megan Arias (760) 331-5010 marias@carlsbadusd.net
Director, Elementary Education Kimberly Huesing (760) 331-5014 khuesing@carlsbadusd.net
Administrative Assistant
Ruth Cartagena
(760) 331-5074
Administrative Assistant
Lori Grundler
(760) 331-5012
Student Services Specialist
Rosemary Eshelman
(760) 331-5362
GATE (Gifted/Adv. Learner)/ELD Kimberly Huesing (760) 331-5014 khuesing@carlsbadusd.net
Elementary Instructional Specialist/TOSA Kimberly Fuentes (760) 331-5023 kfuentes@carlsbadusd.net
Secondary Instructional Specialist/TOSA Mary Martin (760) 331-6944 mmartin@carlsbadusd.net
 Director of Pupil Services Tim Evanson (760) 331-5016 tevanson@carlsbadusd.net
Coordinator of Special Education Brent Nielsen (760) 331-5015 bnielsen@carlsbadusd.net
Accountant Emily Smith (760) 331-5017 esmith@carlsbadusd.net
Administrative Assistant Theresa Worth (760) 331-5075 tworth@carlsbadusd.net
NCCSE Program Specialist Gigi Ostrowsky (760) 331-5019 gostrowsky@carlsbadusd.net
Program Specialist Andrew Sellers (760) 331-5073 asellers@carlsbadusd.net
Resource Nurse Julia Hart-Lawson (760) 331-5939 jhartlawson@carlsbadusd.net
Nurses FAX   (760) 729-0641